Speed windsurfing world champions crowned in Fuerteventura

July 6, 2017 | Windsurfing
Twan Verseput: the 2017 ISWC speed world champion | Photo: Belland

Twan Verseput and Zara Davis are the 2017 speed windsurfing world champions.

The Dutch and the British windsurfers claimed the 2017 ISWC Speed World Championship, held in conjunction with Dunkerbeck GPS Speed Challenge, in Fuerteventura, Canary Islands.

Verseput, 24, was able to sail faster than the organizer in the majority of the races and raised the title in the windy beach of Matas Blancas.

"I can't believe it! Dreams come true! After a hard week fighting together with Bjorn Dunkerbeck and Markus Emanuelsson and all the other guys, I can call myself speed world champion! I'm super stoked!" said Verseput.

But despite losing the world title to the young speed windsurfer, Dunkerbeck was happy with how the event went off.

"We are very happy with this year's event - great vibe for the fourth time at this site and second time hosting the world championships. Congratulation to Twan! At half my age, he just had more speed than me this time. But watch out: I will be back!" expressed Bjorn Dunkerbeck.

On the women's side, Davis confirmed her superiority and won all heats. She will be hard to beat in the upcoming events.

"I was super happy to win here again. Well done to all the other girls who pushed me hard in every heat. It was an honor to sail with you all," concluded Davis.

Dunkerbeck GPS Speed Challenge 2017 | Top 3

1. Twan Verseput (NED)
2. Bjorn Dunkerbeck (SPA)
3. Markus Emanuelsson (SWE)

1. Zara Davis (GBR)
2. Anne Schindler (GER)
3. Miriam Rasmussen (NOR)

1. Jans Thyme (DEN)
2. Oscar Etmon (NED)
3. Alexa Eschrich (GER)

Zara Davis: the 2017 ISWC women's speed windsurfing champion | Photo: Bellande