Brazilian Bodyboarding Circuit steps up the game

January 31, 2019 | Bodyboarding
Brazilian Bodyboarding Tour: the 2019 season will be bigger and better | Photo: CBRASB

The Brazilian Bodyboarding Confederation (CBRASB) announced the schedule of events for the 2019 season.

The surprise is the addition of a fifth stage in the national circuit. After a triumphant return last year, Rio de Janeiro, Santa Catarina, Espírito Santo, and Ceará will again welcome Brazil's best bodyboarders.

The new tour stop is a second event in the state of Espírito Santo. The 2019 Brazilian Bodyboarding Circuit will kick off in the second semester at the prestigious wave of Itacoatiara.

The organization has also revealed details about the prize money and the rating of the events.

All five stages will award the same points and a minimum prize money of R$20,000 for all professional categories.

However, if any event promoter chooses to increase the prize purse, that stage will deliver additional points. The rule is only valid for professional divisions, though.

Sócrates Santana and Maira Viana are the defending champions.

2019 Brazilian Bodyboarding Circuit | Schedule

Niterói | June 20-23
Santa Catarina | August 15-18
Vila Velha | September 5-8
Aracruz | October 10-13
Ceará | December 12-15