Carissa Moore: the most successful Hawaiian competitive surfer of all time | Photo: Miers/WSL

Carissa Moore has taken out the 2019 World Surf League (WSL) Women's Championship Tour (CT) title at Honolua Bay in Hawaii.

The Hawaiian surfer has won the fourth world surfing title of her career, joining Australian athletes Stephanie Gilmore and Layne Beachley, fellow countrywoman Lisa Andersen and Freida Zamba, and South African Wendy Botha.

Moore has also become the most successful competitive surfer in the Hawaiian archipelago - Andy Irons won three world titles, and John John Florence has two.

The 27-year-old from Honolulu has had a highly consistent season. She was the only surfer who was never knocked out before the quarterfinals.

Carissa Moore won three events and had two runner-up finishes, three equal thirds, and two equal fifth places.

In the year's final event, the Hawaiian saw her direct opponents - Lakey Peterson and Caroline Marks - fall prematurely at the hands of Tyler Wright and Stephanie Gilmore, respectively.

"I was trying to keep my focus and emotions in check. It's incredible! It's been years of work and years of growing and learning," expressed Moore.

"I dreamed of this moment for a long time, but this one was the hardest. This year, I wanted to do things a little differently, and my non-profit Moore Aloha has given me that sense of purpose."

Mission: Tokyo 2020

And Tokyo 2020 is right around the corner. Moore says that following in Duke Kahanamoku's footsteps in the Olympic Games gives her chills to think about it.

"I hope to go to Japan and spread the Aloha Spirit. I'm proud and honored to represent the USA and Hawaii in particular."

The 2019 Maui Pro was eventually won by Stephanie Gilmore, who defeated Tyler Wright and guaranteed the 31st CT trophy of her career.

With the conclusion of the 2019 WSL Women's Championship Tour, eight surfers secured a provisional ticket for the Tokyo 2020 Olympics.

They are Carissa Moore, Caroline Marks, Silvana Lima, Tatiana Weston-Webb, Sally Fitzgibbons, Stephanie Gilmore, Brisa Hennessy, and Johanne Defay.

2019 World Surf League (WSL) Women's Championship Tour | Top 5 Rankings

1. Carissa Moore (HAW)
2. Caroline Marks (USA)
3. Lakey Peterson (USA)
4. Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)
5. Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS)

Top Stories

The most successful competitive surfer of all time, Kelly Slater, rode what may have been the last heat of his 24-year professional career.

Big wave surfing is an industry with an industry.

Ryan Crosby is the new chief executive officer (CEO) of the World Surf League (WSL).

Jack Robinson and Gabriela Bryan have taken out the 2024 Margaret River Pro.