Gabriel Medina wins the Billabong Pro Tahiti 2014

August 26, 2014 | Surfing
Gabriel Medina: three Teahupoo titles | Photo: ASP/Kirstin

Gabriel Medina defeated Kelly Slater to win the Billabong Pro Tahiti 2014, in 12-to-15 foot barreling waves at Teahupoo.

The Brazilian surfer claimed his third Billabong Pro Tahiti title, in a spectacular final against the 11-time world surfing champion, and takes the lead of the ASP World Tour rankings.

"I don't really know what to say. I'm so blessed to have these conditions at 'Chopes' and surf against all these guys. This is such a special event, and I'm just so happy right now. Kelly is a legend of surfing, and it's the best feeling ever to win," says Gabriel Medina.

"The waves were big and perfect and this feeling is amazing. I love surfing and to get these waves is incredible. I want to thank ASP for the event, and I'm so happy to be part of this."

The Teahupoo final has been considered the best ever in a World Championship Tour event. Both surfers scored excellent nine-point scores, and the winner was decided by a narrow margin - only 0.03 points.

"What can you say? The ocean delivered for us today... this week. It was incredible. I've never seen anything like it, and today will go down as one of the best days of surfing in my career, no question," added Slater.

"Congratulations to Gabriel. He was in rhythm all event and specifically in the final, and he's on fire this year. We switch gears big time for Trestles, and I'm looking forward to the rest of the season. There's a lot of work ahead."

The Hurley Pro at Trestles is coming. The Californian event is going to be surfed from September 9th-20th, 2014.

Billabong Pro Tahiti 2014 Final:
Gabriel Medina (BRA) 18.96, def. Kelly Slater (USA)18.93