Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau: go big or go home | Photo: Quiksilver

The list of invitees for the 31st Annual Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau has been unveiled. The event is on for February 10th.

The one-day big wave riding competition only gets underway when waves meet or exceed the Hawaiian 20-foot minimum (40 feet for the rest of the world). The waiting period runs from December 1st, 2015, through February 29th, 2016.

The Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau has only been held a total of eight times, most recently on December 9th, 2009, won by Greg Long. The list of 28 invitees includes names from Aaron Gold to Tom Carroll.

The big wave surfing event takes place in Waimea Bay and honors the life of Eddie Aikau, the legendary Hawaiian surfer, lifeguard and waterman who lost his life at only 31, when double-hulled voyaging canoe Hokule'a capsized 12 miles south of Molokai. Aikau tried to paddle towards Lanai on his surfboard, but he was never seen again.

The opening ceremony for the 2015/2016 Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau took place December 3rd, at Waimea Bay. The exhibition "The Big Wave Riders of Hawaii" will display stunning photos of iconic Hawaiian surfers as shot through the eyes of Bernard Testemale.

Winners of the event include Denton Miyamura (1984/1985), Clyde Aikau (1986/1987), Keone Downing (1989/1990), Noah Johnson (1998/1999), Ross Clarke-Jones (2000/2001), Bruce Irons (2004/2005), Kelly Slater (2001/2002), Greg Long (2009/2010).

31st Annual Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau | Heat Draw

Heat 1:
Shane Dorian (HAW)
Kohl Christensen (HAW)
Greg Long (CA)
Ramon Navarro (CHI)
Sunny Garcia (HAW)
Ross Clarke-Jones (AUS)
Jamie Mitchell (AUS)

Heat 2:
Kelly Slater (FL)
David Wassell (HAW)
Grant Baker (ZAF)
Reef McIntosh (HAW)
Jamie O'Brien (HAW)
Aaron Gold (HAW)
Tom Carroll (AUS)

Heat 3:
John John Florence (HAW)
Mark Healey (HAW)
Clyde Aikau (HAW)
Nathan Fletcher (CA)
Noah Johnson (HAW)
Peter Mel (CA)
Takayuki Wakita (JPN)

Heat 4:
Bruce Irons (HAW)
Makuakai Rothman (HAW)
Ian Walsh (HAW)
Albee Layer (HAW)
Kala Alexander (HAW)
Garrett McNamara (HAW)
Jeremy Flores (FRA)

Top 5 Alternates
Mason Ho (HAW)
Danilo Couto (BRA)
Mark Mathews (AUS)
Koa Rothman (HAW)
Ben Wilkinson (AUS)

Top Stories

Umm Suqeim Beach, also known as Sunset Beach, is the home of surfing in Dubai. Here's why and how the Emirati surf break became a swell magnet in the region.

AllWaves is a new wave pool technology from Belgium that allows surfing on an artificial lake, thus bringing surfing experiences closer to enthusiasts and landlocked surfers.

The waves at O2 SurfTown MUC are rolling. Europe's largest wave pool opens in Summer 2024 in Munich, Germany.

Welcome to "The End of the Road," one of the nicknames for the Paris 2024 Olympic surfing venue, Teahupoo.