Antoine Albeau is the 2013 PWA Slalom World Tour champion

October 7, 2013 | Windsurfing
Antoine Albeau: can he be stopped?

Antoine Albeau has claimed the 2013 PWA Slalom World Tour crown, after taking first place at the Sylt World Cup, in Germany.

Albeau produced another fantastic display, to not only claim the event victory, but also the 2013 PWA Slalom World Championship.

In the last eight years, the Frenchman has secured seven world Slalom windsurfing titles. Any doubts he's the fastest and most experienced windsurfer on planet Earth?

Albeau showed tremendous speed and super consistent gybes over the course of the ten days to build an unassailable lead, including an elimination victory in race five.

"I'm super happy to have won again here in Sylt and of course to claim the world title. I had a big battle with Julien and Alberto. I had a lot of opportunities to win the world title this year, but it is always stressful", says Albeau.

"I'd also like to take the chance to thank my sponsors and the organizer of this fantastic event, so thank you Matthias. I'll look forward to returning next year, just have my bottle of champagne waiting for me".

Alberto Menegatti was the only man who could've prevented Albeau from claiming the 2013 PWA Slalom World Championship, but the Italian couldn't quite pull it off on this occasion.

In the end Menegatti finished just behind Albeau in both the event and overall standings, but this year represents the twenty-eight year olds best finish to date on the PWA World Tour as he clinched his place on the prestigious podium for the first time, second place.

Another man securing his place on the overall podium for the first time is Julien Quentel, who showed incredible top speed to consistently blow his other competitors out of the water.

2013 PWA World Tour | Men's Slalom Rankings

1. Antoine Albeau (RRD / NeilPryde)
2. Alberto Menegatti (Starboard / Point-7)
3. Julien Quentel (RRD / NeilPryde)
4. Cyril Moussilmani (Starboard / Severne)
5. Ben van der Steen (Starboard / Gaastra / Mystic / Different)
6. Gonzalo Costa Hoevel (Starboard / Loft Sails)
7. Antoine Questel (Starboard / Loft Sails)
8. Micah Buzianis (JP / MauiSails)
9. Josh Angulo (Angulo / Gun Sails)
10. Matteo Iachino (F2 / Challenger / AL360)