Camille Juban storms the 2012 AWT Hatteras Wave Jam

September 19, 2012 | Windsurfing
Camille Juban: flying for the American Windsurfing Tour title

Camille Juban has taken out the 2012 AWT Hatteras Wave Jam and is ready to be crowned the American Windsurfing Tour champion.

With a solid swell hitting the Hatteras island on the final day, wind gods sent their fruits for a fantastic wrap-up. Incredible port-tack conditions closed the Pro, Women and Youth heats plus an Amateur/Masters Expression Session for a Chinook Pro-1 Carbon boom.

Pro heats were set for 15-minutes and the judges score cards were quickly filled up as there were plenty of waves providing long and ripable rides.

The final heat came down to an epic battle between Camille Juban, Fabrice Beaux and Morgan Noireaux. It was a super close contest with Juban's Goiter giving him the edge over the smooth sailing Beaux and slashy Noireaux.

The Youth final was a head-to-head contest between local Ian Stokes and west coast ripper Fiona Wylde. Stokes' experience in the challenging Hatteras conditions made a difference allowing him to sail to victory.

Miho Tanaka took the Women's crown by narrowly defeating Fiona Wylde, Ingrid Larouche and Sam Bittner. The women had sailed a heat in lack-luster conditions on the previous day so it was good to see them get a second chance in some bigger waves and stronger wind.

The Amateur/Masters Expression Session gave all the sailors watching the exciting pro heats a chance to hit the water and show their wave riding ability.
It was crowded on the water but there were so many waves it made for an action packed 20-minute heat. The standout sailor and winner of a Chinook Pro-1 Carbon Boom was MacRae Wylde.

Camille Juban leads the 2012 American Windsurfing Tour rankings. The Hookipa stage will be decisive. Levi Siver can still win the title, while Morgan Noireaux, Kevin Pritchard, Bernd Roediger, Graham Ezzy, Russ Faurot, Marcilio Browne and Nathan Mershon are battling for a podium place.

2012 AWT Hatteras Wave Jam | Results

Pro Men

1. Camille Juban
2. Morgan Norieaux
3. Fabrice Beaux
4. Kevin Pritchard
5. Nathan Mershon
5. Keith McCulloch


1. Miho Tanaka
2. Fiona Wylde
3. Ingrid Larouche
4. Sam Bittner


1. Ian Stokes
2. Fiona Wylde uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more on our About section.