Ross Williams crowned 2012 European Formula Windsurfing champion

May 22, 2012 | Windsurfing
Ross Williams: 2012 Formula Windsurfing champion

Ross Williams is the 2012 European Formula Windsurfing champion. The British sailor was crowned after the conclusion of the Rollei Bullet HD Summer Opening, contested in Sylt, Germany.

During four days, windsurfers from 13 nations battled at Westerland for the Formula European title, with 75.000 spectators attending the show at Brandenburger Beach.

Williams showed an impressive form and took five victories out of a possible seven to claim the event title. Arnon Dagan, from Israel, followed in second position and gave Ross a hard time.

Australian Steve Allen finished in third place, but secured several second positions in single races. Casper Boumann, from the Netherlands took fourth and got the overall bronze medal.

Boumann is an experienced RS:X windsurfer, but proved that switching from the Olympic Class to Formula Windsurfing is perfectly possible.

Current Formula Windsurfer world ranking leader Brazilian Paulo dos Reis finished 7th while fellow Brazilian Wilhelm Schurmann took 9th position.

Formula European Championships 2012 | Results

1. Ross Williams (5,0 points)
2. Arnon Dagan (9.0 points)
3. Steve Allen (12.0 points)
4. Casper Boumann (23.0 points) and third best European