Sarah-Quita Offringa nominated for 2017 Rolex World Sailor of the Year

September 21, 2017 | Windsurfing
Sarah-Quita Offringa: nominated for 2017 Rolex World Sailor of the Year | Photo: Carter/PWA

She is one of the most successful professional windsurfers of all time. Sarah-Quita Offringa has been nominated for 2017 Rolex World Sailor of the Year.

Sarah-Quita Offringa was born on July 4, 1991, in Oranjestad, Aruba. She says she started windsurfing because she lives on an island surrounded by water and great winds.

Initially, Offringa didn't like it because "the equipment was quite heavy and as I was quite young. It was hard to get the sail out of the water."

In 2001, Sarah-Quita watched her brother compete at the Aruba Hi-Winds. She met windsurfers from all over the world and began building interest in the water sport.

Offringa attended windsurfing classes and participated in her first event - Bonaire's Annual Sailing Regatta.

"I met the Bonairians for the first time who helped me rig my stuff and explained how the races worked. On the water, it was all fun of games, and afterward, we would all share stories. I've been hooked ever since," explained the Aruban.

Offringa, also known as "Cabei Busha," competed in her first PWA World Tour event in 2003. Since then, she won 14 freestyle and slalom world titles. Sarah-Quita also started competing in the wave division, and it will only be a matter of time before she wins a world title.

Sarah-Quita Offringa also loves playing tennis, swimming, reading, playing piano, and riding her bike. Her favorite food is pasta, Thai food, and seafood, and she enjoys listening to reggae, rap, and latin music.

2017 Rolex World Sailor of the Year| Nominees

Marit Bouwmeester (NED): 2017 Laser Radial World Champion
Martine Grael and Kahena Kunze (BRA): 49erFX World Cup Series Champions
Sarah-Quita Offringa (ARU): Pro Windsurfers Association World Tour Freestyle and Slalom World Champion
Tara Pacheco (helmed by Fernando Echavarri) (ESP): Nacra 17 World Cup Series Champions

Glenn Ashby (AUS): America's Cup winning Skipper
Peter Burling (NZL): America's Cup winning Helmsman
Thomas Coville (FRA): Singlehanded Round the World Record holder
Armel Le Cleac'h (FRA): 2016-2017 Vendée Globe winner

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: