Tyson Poor conquers the 2012 La Ventana Classic

January 26, 2012 | Windsurfing
La Ventana or El Sargento: grab a skateboard

Tyson Poor has conquered the 2012 La Ventana Classic 11-Mile Island Crossing, held at Baja California Sur, in Mexico.

The event represents the spirit of wind riding. Great weather conditions, superb windsurfing and kiteboarding competitions, paddling clinics, live auctions, parties and fund raising efforts.

Again, the old and healthy rivalry of windsurfers and kitesurfers was here to stay. The year 2012 has seen a couple of windsurfing victories and the 2012 La Ventana Classic drove in the same way.

Tyson Poor secured the title for his sailing class, in the long distance race, leaving two kiteboarders in the silver and bronze medals: Johnny Heineken and Bryan Lake.

Steve Bodner took the course racing in the windsurf division, while Adam Koch won in the kiteboarding category. In the Big Air/Old School showdown, Brandon Bowe beat experienced riders Damien LeRoy and Julian Kerner.

In the end, there are more $23,500 US to spend in La Ventana and El Sargento community projects. The 2013 La Ventana Classic is right around the corner.

2012 La Ventana Classic | Results

11-Mile Island Crossing

Fastest Crossing
1. Tyson Poor (windsurfer)
2. Johnny Heineken (kiteboarder)
3. Bryan Lake (kiteboarder)

Men Kiteboarding
1. Johnny Heineken
2. Bryan Lake
3. Damien LeRoy

Women Kiteboarding
1. Erika Heineken
2. Marie LeClerc
3. Rachel Callahan

Course Racing

1. Steve Bodner
2. Lyn Preutt

Men Kite
1. Adam Koch
2. Johnny Heineken
3. Bryan Lake

Women Kite
1. Erika Heineken
2. Alexis Aguera
3. Colleen Carroll

Big Air/Old School

1. Brandon Bowe
2. Damien LeRoy
3. Julian Kerner

1. Michelle Gabriel
2. Brittany Todd
3. Kris Kinn