Mullaghmore Head: welcome to Ireland

Heavy, fast and hollow waves have been charged by the invitees of the first annual Billabong Monster Energy Mullaghmore Head, a big wave surfing contest held in County Sligo, Ireland. Benjamin Sanchis and Éric Rebière, from France, were the biggest winners after scoring incredible barrels.

Twenty-foot waves have been surfed in light offshore wind conditions. Richie Fitzgerald, Ireland's finest big wave rider, has partnered with Gabe Davies in Mullaghmore Head, a premier European surf spot.

This place is quite incredible and breaks over a shallow, left-hand reef break. It is only surfable on the high tide and produces outstanding heavy tubes. Watch the first video highlights.

Read more ...

Matt Banting: the youngest at the Quiksilver Pro

Matt Banting will be the youngest ever surfer to receive a wildcard into the upcoming Quiksilver Pro, in the Australian Gold Coast. The sixteen year-old surfer from Port Macquarie, New South Wales has been steadily making a name for himself among the Aussie junior contingency whilst making a bigger presence in the global surf scene.

Banting won the Under 16 World Junior Surfing Championship, in New Zealand, and the Quiksilver King of The Groms title, in France. Hearing news of the coveted wildcard spot is the highlight of his surf career. "I was over the moon when I found out that I would be competing in the main event," said Banting." It’s the best thing I’ve ever heard. It’s everything I’ve ever dreamed for as a young surfer coming through the ranks. I’m just stoked to get the opportunity."

Read more ...

Jay Quinn: ruling New Zealand

Jay Quinn has conquered the Power Balance Pro at Mount Maunganui, in New Zealand. The surfer from Gisborne has taken three out of four SOL Series events and is fast becoming the most dominant surfer in New Zealand. Quinn blasting his opponents by scoring 16.37 out of a possible 20 points in the final against Alex Dive, Luke Hughes and Buck Woods.

The win follows his first victory of the season at home in Gisborne back, in November, before winning the National Championships held at Dunedin, in January and then placing an agonizing runner up at the most recent event in Whangamata two weeks ago, a final he had won, until the last 40 seconds. Quinn extends his lead on the SOL Series beyond 2400 points which is a massive lead that will take a miracle to bridge by any of his fellow surfers.

Read more ...