Jeffrey's Bay: a nuclear plant here?

Surfers from all around the world might lose one of their best and most loved wave sanctuaries. Believe it or not, Jeffrey's Bay and its Supertubes are the place chosen for a planned nuclear power plant.

Eskom, the company behind the project is considering building Africa's biggest unit at Thyspunt, very near Jeffrey's Bay. Experts say waves and local economy will be affected.


James Watson: congratulations, dude

James Watson (Burleigh Heads, Qld), fought off challenges from a host of the state’s finest Stand-Up-Paddleboarders today, to impressively win the 2010 Roar Industries Ultimate SUP Expo. 

With Australia’s premier exponents of the specialty Stand-Up-Paddle sport converging on Currumbin Alley (Gold Coast, Qld) an action packed day saw champions crowned across three divisions as well as Queensland’s SUP team selected to compete at the upcoming Australian Titles.


Kobi Graham: it hurts

Bondi Rescue lifeguard Kobi Graham suffered a hideous wipe out at Cape Solander mid afternoon on Sunday May 30. Kobi took off on a slabbing 6-8ft bomb and kind of nose dived, free falling head first into the reef at “Ours”.

For those that don’t know “Ours” is a notorious big wave surf spot just outside the entrance to Botany Bay. The wave comes out of deep water before literally exploding on a shallow barnacle encrusted rock ledge no more than 10 metres in front of the sheer cliff face. Kobi fractured two vertebrae, meaning he broke his neck in layman’s terms.

Watch the video of this terrible wipe out, HERE.