Garren Pryce: funtastic, dude!

The Lighthouse surfing beach at Plumb Point on the Palisadoes strip was the stage for the final act of the Jamaica Surfing Association’s 2010 National Junior Surfing Championship series. The three event series started on July 11 at the Ranch surfing beach in Portland with the second event being held at Long Bay on the 7 August.

The lighthouse provided small but perfect waves for the islands top under 18 surfers to display their talents. Eleven surfers registered for the event which saw 3 rounds of competition. The winds were light offshore making for extremely favorable conditions and the surfers took full advantage of the smooth water surface.

The first round saw three twenty minute heats which narrowed the field for the semi finals. With two withdrawals in the semifinals the top 4 surfers from the round paddled out for the 20 minute final. Garren Pryce, Ivah Wilmot, Armani Green and Akeem Taylor had proven themselves the best surfers of the day and twenty minutes more would determine who would collect the 1000 points on offer for first place.

The Horn sounded and the young athletes did their best to impress the judges. Garren caught a lovely wave and proceeded to display all his best moves. Akeem got a nice set wave and destroyed it with quick slashing turns. Ivah caught a smaller wave that seemed to develop as it ran down the beach providing him with numerous options for high scoring turns. Armani latched on to a number of very good looking waves and executed a nice repertoire of maneuvers.

As the time wound down Akeem caught a lovely wave and in the middle of one particularly vicious turn strained his knee and had to retire from the heat. This left a three way battle for the best waves with all three catching nice set waves and pulling impressive moves.

When the final horn sounded the scores were tallied and the results were announced. In first Garren Pryce, Second Ivah Wilmot, third Armani Green, all of Bull Bay in Saint Andrew, and fourth Akeem Taylor of Boston Bay.

The points earned from this event were totaled with the points earned by the surfers from the previous two events in the series and a National Junior Surfing Champion was declared. Here is the final 2010 Jamaica National Junior Surfing Championship ranking.

2010 National Junior Surfing Championship Series Results

1 Garren Pryce
2 Ivah Wilmot
3 Akeem Taylor
4 Armani Green
5 Ronald Hastings
6 Conrad Smith
7 Adrian Lewis
8 Sanjay Lewis
9 Shama Beckford
10 Warren Lewis

Teahupoo: the most beautiful place in the world

The swell has kicked up over night, and with pulsing three-to-four foot (1.5 metre) waves on offer, the Billabong Pro Tahiti will finally commence with Round 1 hitting the water at 6:30am.

Event No. 5 of 10 on the 2010 ASP World Tour, the Billabong Pro Tahiti has endured seven, consecutive lay days, but will be well rewarded as the world’s best surfers do battle in clean conditions at Teahupoo.

“It’s been a long wait, but the waves have arrived and we’ll be commencing competition at 6:30am,” Richie Porta, ASP International Head Judge, said. “We plan to utilize all the swell we have available which means a full day today. We aim to complete Round 1 and a portion of Round 2, but will monitor conditions throughout the day.”

In addition to contributing to a red-hot ASP World Title Race, the Billabong Pro Tahiti will also serve as the final event for the world’s best surfers looking to make the midyear cut-off asp the ASP Top 45 is reduced to the Top 34 (Top 32 finishers after five events plus two surfer wildcards).

Up first this morning will be Damien Hobgood (USA), 31, Kekoa Bacalso (HAW), 25, and Jay Thompson (AUS), 28, in the opening heat of the Billabong Pro Tahiti.

Heat 1: Damien Hobgood (USA), Kekoa Bacalso (HAW), Jay Thompson (AUS)
Heat 2: Jadson Andre (BRA), Luke Stedman (AUS), Nate Yeomans (USA)
Heat 3: Bobby Martinez (USA), Jeremy Flores (FRA), Marco Polo (BRA)
Heat 4: Dane Reynolds (USA), Tom Whitaker (AUS), Blake Thornton (AUS)
Heat 5: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Roy Powers (HAW), Tim Reyes (USA)
Heat 6: Bede Durbidge (AUS), Kieren Perrow (AUS), Joan Duru (FRA)
Heat 7: Mick Fanning (AUS), Adam Melling (AUS), Tamaroa McComb (PYF)
Heat 8: Jordy Smith (ZAF), C.J. Hobgood (USA), Manoa Drollet (PYF)
Heat 9: Taj Burrow (AUS), Tiago Pires (PRT), Tuamata Puhetini (PYF)
Heat 10: Kelly Slater (USA), Andy Irons (HAW), Heiarii Williams (PYF)
Heat 11: Adrian Buchan (AUS), Dusty Payne (HAW), Drew Courtney (AUS)
Heat 12: Owen Wright (AUS), Brett Simpson (USA), Neco Padaratz (BRA)
Heat 13: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Tanner Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 14: Michel Bourez (PYF), Dean Morrison (AUS), Mick Campbell (AUS)
Heat 15: Taylor Knox (USA), Luke Munro (AUS), Travis Logie (ZAF)
Heat 16: Chris Davidson (AUS), Patrick Gudauskas (USA), Ben Dunn (AUS)

Earthwave: crowd for a good reason

The Earthwave Beach Festival will again host an attempt to challenge the Guinness World Record for the most surfers riding the same wave at Surfers Corner on Muizenberg Beach on the weekend of 25 & 26 September 2010.

The fourth edition of the popular festival that harnesses the huge interest surrounding attempts to break Guinness World Records (GWR) to promote sustainable lifestyle choices, will include a national SA Longboard Surfing (SALSA) event and Stand Up Paddleboarding (SUP) races featuring many of the country’s top performers, alongside plenty of fun beach activities, demonstrations and talks on climate change over the two days.

“We excited about Earthwave 2010 and after setting the Guinness World Record of 110 surfers riding the same wave at Muizenberg last year, we feel that we can raise the record even further,’ says Paul Botha from Kahuna Promotions, the organisers of the festival.

“Earthwave has become a really fun, mass participation event since 2006 with more than 440 surfers of every age and ability paddling out to break the record last year, and three times that many on the beach urging them on,” Botha added. “We’re inviting environmental organisations and companies to join us at the event to raise awareness of climate change and what can be done to reduce our impact on the planet.”

“There’ll be plenty of action in the ocean and on the beach with heaps of give-aways, raffles for worthy causes and competitions like Dig for Gold with prizes worth tens of thousands of Rands. And the whole fiesta ends off with the after-party-of-the-year at the Brass Bell.”

The attempt on the Guinness World Record will be made between 1pm and 2pm on Sunday 26 September, with registration starting at 10am, and the SALSA longboard surfing event and SUP races will start on Saturday 25, with the finals on the Sunday morning.

Earthwave Brazil, where the Guinness World Record of 100 surfers riding the same wave was set in 2008, will also be making another attempt to break the record on Sunday 12 September as part of a three day professional longboarding and SUP event at Quebra Mar near Sao Paulo.