Daniel Ross

Daniel Ross (Wooloweyah, AUS), 25, has handidly won the 2009 ASP World Qualifying Series (WQS), further cementing his reputation as one of the most dangerous surfers on the 2010 ASP Dream Tour and emphatically announcing his comeback to the world’s elite.

The dedicated Aussie launched an absolute blitzkrieg on an international field of up-and-comers hungry to find their way onto the elite stage of the ASP World Tour, solidifying his position as a qualifier well before the end of the 2009 season, before attaining the No. 1 seed in bombing surf at the ASP WQS 6-Star PRIME O’Neill World Cup of Surfing at Sunset Beach.

“There are a lot of surfers that do fall off the tour their first year and that shows how high the level of surfing and competitiveness is on the World Tour,” Ross said. “You need to be so well balanced and tuned in on all levels, physically, emotionally and mentally. For me, this year, it was a mixture of hard work in all these areas, not just my surfing. I was focusing on learning and having fun with it all. It’s easy to get motivated when you are really enjoying what you do.”

Read more ...

Kelly Slater leads the ''rebels''

The "Rebel Tour" might kick off in 2010, ASL reports. The so-called ESPN Champions Surf Tour (CST) has already signed with top professional surfers like Dane Reynolds, Andy and Bruce Irons, Ry Craike, Taj Burrow, Rob Machado, Shane Dorian, Mitch Coleborn, Clay Marzo and even Kelly Slater.

According to ASL, Slater will have more information shortly, but stills reserves a lot of details about the new surfing circuit. There are still important surfers to accept to change clothes, like ASP's loyal athletes Mick Fanning, Joel Parkinson and Jordy Smith.

During the Mundaka event, everyone thought that the "rebels" were losing their heat to the historic WCT, but things are still uncertain.

Matt Tinley is supposed to be ESPN’s surfing tour designer and it is believed that the Champions Surf Tour will have a $500,000 prize money per event (1st having $125,000). The competition will have eight world stages and a final battle, with events running from September to December.

If the CST goes ahead, there will be a severe division in the surfing scene and people at International Surfing Association will certainly have their say.

Tanner Gudauskas

Today was life-changing for 21 year old Tanner Gudauskas, The young surfer from San Clemente earned enough points to compete next year in the WCT.

But he's not the only Gudauskas to leave for the CT, he'll be joining up with his older brother Pat, who earned his spot on the tour what only feels like moments ago. Only by coincidence, in the round of 32 at the O'Neill World Cup, all three brothers found themselves in a heat together with Mason Ho.

"That hasn't happened since high school" says Dane. The G-Bro's cheering section was complete with their parents, teammate Dylan Graves, and hometown friend Nate Yeomans. Since Pat had already secured his spot on the WCT, him and Dane knew their little brother was in position to make it, so it came as no shock that he got all the good waves, and came out on top. Pat finished up the heat with a total score of 2.64.

Read more ...