Todos Santos Big Wave Event: everyone's looking at the computer swell forecast'

Looking pretty slow in the immediate term with just modest WNW swell mix Tue/Wed.

New WNW swell builds and peaks over the afternoon on Thursday but that will be below the contest size threshold and mainly in the 8’ range (15’ faces, with a few sets up to maybe 20’ on the face, at best). Conditions Thursday afternoon/evening, as the swell peaks, also look less than ideal with 10-15kt+ NW wind.

We will be watching a potentially larger NW swell for late in the weekend, which is looking strongest for Todos Santos on Sunday the 28th at this point. If the storm behaves as currently forecast, a 12’+ deepwater swell (20-25’ faces) looks possible on Sunday, although conditions will need to be watched closely as a front will be moving through the area at roughly the same time and may set up unfavorable wind.

Read more ...

ASP iPhone application: you still need to go surfing in real life

ASP International iPhone application, ASPtogo, is now available for download online, putting the world’s best surfing in your pocket wherever you may roam.

The ASPtogo application gives the user live scores, heat results, photos, videos and connects to LIVE video feeds of the world’s best surfers going off in the world’s best waves.

One download will give the user access to all ASP events, from the ASP World Tour through the ASP Pro Junior events, allowing one to follow their favorite surfers at every level of the sport.

Read more ...

Ramon Taliani: a tasty victory in front of 1500 fans

The Italian-Costa Rican resident of Malpais in Punteranas, Ramón Taliani prevailed Sunday at the premier date of the Circuito Nacional de Surf DayStar in Playa Westfalia in Limon, beating in the finals the Jaco residents Luis Vindas and Jair Pérez, not to mention Tamarindo’s Luis Castro.

In front of Hotel del Pilón, close to 1,500 people watched the finals and semi-finals from 11 a.m., with waves of at least a meter in size.

It was sunny in Limon and the atmosphere was great, adding tremendous support for the last heats, as Castro mounted a lead for the first 10 minutes, while Taliana lacked a better wave only scoring 8.00 points in the first minutes.

He eventually added two better waves—rights with strong maneuvers initiated on the routes. Vindas and Pérez had bad luck in each of their decisions, lacking the ability to find waves. Castro put in some of the highest combinations, but Taliani ultimately obtained the highest points in the race surfing 14.67 in the finals.

Read more ...