Kelly Slater 

Nine-time world champion Kelly Slater (Florida, USA) looks relaxed and confident heading into this weekend’s Quiksilver Pro presented by LG Mobile.

The defending Quiksilver Pro champion, who was on hand at Snapper Rocks today for the official press launch, declared he’ll almost certainly challenge for an unprecedented 10th ASP world title.

“I think I’m pretty relaxed about it,” said Slater.

“I’ll probably have a few nerves to start. But once you hit the water and start surfing you stop thinking about the big picture.”

“You’ve got to focus on every heat, every wave and every manoeuvre. You really have to break it down to the small details, as they’re the things that win big heats. The big heats are usually close, so you’ve got to be aware of what’s happening around you – It’s a big part to the preparation!”

The reigning world title holder will open his campaign against Byron Bay ace Kieren Perrow (Aus) and the lowest seeded trials wildcard in round one of the season-opening ASP men’s World Tour event.

Recently retired world tour surfer Danny Wills (Byron Bay, Aus) and rising star Julian Wilson (Coolum, Aus), who joined Slater along with 2007 world champion and local star Mick Fanning (Coolangatta, Aus) for the day’s launch, have been awarded main event wildcards into the prestigious tournament.

The third and final wildcard will be granted to the winner of tomorrow’s Quiksilver Pro Trials to be staged in conjunction with the Roxy Pro Trials.

Two-time ASP women’s world champion Stephanie Gilmore (Kingscliff, Aus) will be looking to put successive bad results at the opening event of the year behind her, in her bid for a hat trick of world crowns.

Gilmore shot to fame as a 17-year-old schoolgirl in 2005 when she was the youngest surfer to win the Roxy Pro.


A Fly in the Champagne 

Irons Brothers Productions is pleased to announce our newest project, "A Fly in the Champagne". The rivalry between Andy Irons and Kelly Slater has been one of folklore for a decade now. The two most influential surfers of all-time have had a much-publicized dislike for each other over the years.  

Irons Brothers Productions embarked on a two-week excursion to Indonesia with Andy and Kelly to capture what everyone thought could never happen, a trip together. What ensued was groundbreaking and captivating.

Shot from land, boat, and water, Irons Brothers Productions captured history. This project was shot solely on HD and film cameras. With co-sponsoring from Billabong, Quiksilver, ESPN and Transworld Surf, there is no doubt that this will be a highly successful project. In Stores March 15th, 2009.


Searching for Michael Peterson

The world premiere of the feature-length “Searching for Michael Peterson” will be a highlight of the Global Surf Industries Noosa Festival of Surfing, with the sport’s luminaries from around the world expected to attend.

The premiere, at Noosa Cinemas on Monday, March 16 will be hosted by former world pro surfing champion Peter Townend, and will also feature a live music set from “Morning of the Earth” musicians Peter Howe and Tim Gaze, plus an exclusive encore screening of the American Wide World of Sports special, “Puerto Rico World Titles 1968”, unseen for almost 40 years.

Searching for Michael Peterson, directed by Jolyon Hoff, is a docudrama telling the moving story of one of Australia’s greatest surfers whose career was cut short by mental illness. For five glorious years “MP” led the Coolangatta Kids and won virtually every event he contested, including three Bells Beach Pros back to back.