Laura Enever 

Noah Lane (Rainbow Beach/Queensland) and Laura Enever (North Sydney Beaches/NSW) have won the Pro Junior Men’s and Women’s divisions of the Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) Australasia Fantastic Noodles Pro Junior.

In very good three-to-four feet (1 meter) surf both surfers produced outstanding 9 point plus rides to secure today’s wins.

Laura Enever ‘s victory was one of the best of her career and has further extended her lead on the ASP Australasian Pro Junior Series Women’s ratings for 2009.

Seventeen year old Enever was staring at a big defeat at the half way stage in the final which saw Tyler Wright open with a strong 7.75 and shortly after take a commanding lead with an excellent 8.75.

Enever, with just two moderate scoring rides was requiring a combination of scores to take the lead and with just 10 minutes remaining in the 30 minute final she found an excellent wave, unleashed four major bottom to powerful top turn snaps and found herself right back in the final when she was awarded the finals top scoring ride of a 9.25.

Her task was still difficult, requiring a 7.25 to win with Wright also holding priority and by the time Enever had returned to the outside peak the final had less than 5 minutes to go.

Read more ...

Ben Bourgeois leads the USA Surf Team in the ISA World Surfing Games 

Surfing America, the National Governing Body (NGB) for Surfing in the United States, announced today the PacSun USA Surf Team for the 2009 Billabong ISA World Surfing Games that begin July 31st and run through August 8th in Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica. The U.S. side will look to improve upon last year's team silver, though they will be without defending Men's Champion, CJ Hobgood.  
Instead, the Americans will send former ASP World Tour standouts, Ben Bourgeois and Cory Lopez. With over a decade of World Tour experience between them, the injection of these two savvy veterans instantly puts the U.S. side in the middle of the championship debate. Lopez's barrel riding exploits have been well documented since leaving the Tour and both he and Benny B, who retired from World Tour competition after the 2008 campaign, are well suited to this particular wave-type.

Rounding out the PacSun USA Surf Team men's squad are Austin Ware, who is currently ranked in the Top 10 on the WQS, and Nat Young, the fifth rated Junior in North America, both of whom have proven that they can perform and turn in solid, if not winning, results against top flight competition on the world stage.  Look for all four competitors to not only deliver, but also open some eyes, in the barreling surf at Hermosa.

Read more ...

Mick Campbell 

Surfing Australia today announced its powerful  TravelSIM Team Australia which departs in the final week of July  for Costa Rica to represent Australia at the  Billabong ISA World Surfing Games 2009.

The eight surfer team consists of four current Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) World Tour surfers along with the two open Longboard surfers who are experienced ASP World Tour competitors.

Open Men:

Mick Campbell (ASP World Tour rating 13/Port Macquarie NSW ),

Dayan Neve (ASP World Tour Rating 24/ Manly),

Dane Atcheson (Current Country Energy  Australian Champion/Central Coast/Copacabanna NSW),

Matt Bemrose (2007 Country Energy Australian Champion and 2008 runner up/Manly).

Read more ...