2010 Asian Windsurfing Championships

Michael Cheng Chun Meung (HKG 16) and Siripon Kawduang Ngam (THA 57) emerged as 2010 Asian Champions after a further two races on day 6 of the Championships.

Both sailors went into the final day in pole position and despite two firsts for Chen Mubin (CHN 23) in the boys fleet, it was not enough to overhaul the overnight leader. Lee Chun Tiung (HKG 40) took the final podium positon.

In the girls fleet Siripon added another two wins in races 9 &10 to compliment the two first on the previous day of racing. She excelled in the lighter winds that predominated in the second half of the regatta. Lin Hai Xia (CHN 22) and Man Ka Kei (HKG 37) held on to take second and third overall - with other members of the China team close behind.

Read more ...

Ivan Pastor at the 2010 RS:X North American Championships

The 2010 RS:X North American Championships were organized by "Shake-a-Leg", an active sailing club dedicated to disabled people, that is located in Coconut Grove/Miami. 14 RSX men and 5 RSX women from 7 different countries were fighting in a good spirit on Miami water.

7 races were sailed in various wind from full planning to marginal, and light wind. Even a storm came through on day two and gave us all a good warm shower!

Nick Dempsey [GBR], 2010 World Champion, went head-to-head with Ivan Pastor [ESP] for top spot. That is when he went out to race as Nick was definitely using the RS:X North Americans as a warm up, not participating in all races.

Read more ...

Rolex Miami OCR

The 2nd event on the ISAF Sailing World Cup is gearing up in Miami. The Rolex Miami OCR will have an influx of European RS:X racers shaking off the winter rust and getting some races under their belts in time for the regattta season to kick off in Europe.

Almost 550 sailors from 45 countries have registered. The must-sail event for Olympic and Paralympic class sailors is based in Coconut Grove at the US Sailing Center.

The event promises elite, international competition on the waters right off Coconut Grove from January 24 to 30.

Our image Rolex/Dan Nerney was shot during last year's medal race and shows Andreas Cariolou, Fabian Heidegger and Nimrod Mashiah powered up and going for gold.

Read more ...