Jake Metcalfe is the 2013 Western Australia bodyboarding champion

July 9, 2013 | Bodyboarding
Jake Metcalfe: the new star of Western Australia

Jake Metcalfe has conquered the 2013 SunSmart Western Australia Bodyboard Titles, at Scarborough Beach.

Despite small and tricky summer-like conditions at Scarborough Beach, WA's top bodyboarders battled it out in clean 1-2 feet waves (0.5 meter) for the final chance to represent their state at the upcoming Australian Bodyboard Titles, in Coffs Harbour, NSW in late November.

Six State Bodyboard Titles were still in contention coming into the weekend and competitors gave their all in hopes of etching their names next to the likes of Brad Hughes, Sean Virtue, Adam Luehman, and George Humphreys, all previous winners of the prestigious event series.

Jake Metcalfe scored a perfect 10 en route to the finals, and went on to claim his maiden win in the Open Men's division after a close scoring and gutsy win. Metcalfe made the most of a wave starved final, linking together major manoeuvres to seal the win.

"I've never really won anything so this is pretty cool. I'm hopefully going to go one or two better at National Titles, after finishing in third last year", said Metcalfe.

Metcalfe finished just ahead of Boden Hay (Mullaloo), Mandurah's Matt Rakich was third ahead of a disappointed Ben Veitch (Margaret River) who caught only two waves to finish fourth. All four Open Men's finalists qualified for National Titles and will spearhead the WA Team.

2013 SunSmart Western Australia Bodyboard Titles | Champions

Open Men
State Champion: Jake Metcalfe

Open Women
State Champion: Bronwyn Fricke

Over 24 Senior Men
State Champion: Ben Veitch

Under 18 Junior Men
State Champion: Davis Blackwell

Under 16 Cadet Boys
State Champion: Noah Symmans

Drop Knee
State Champion: Rory Nelson

Over 35 Masters
State Champion: Ian Goldthorpe

Over 45 Grand Masters
State Champion: Steve Black