Jeff Hubbard and Roberta Bitzer win the 2009 SCION Jenks Pro

September 7, 2009 | Bodyboarding

Jeff Hubbard

The final day of the 2009 SCION Jenks Pro was filled with action from the Amateur and Women’s divisions. John Mangini and Rob Mac from New Jersey were the clear standouts in the Open AM division.

In the 13-17 division it was James Joyce from North Carolina that was a huge head turner, with clean stylish rolls and some in and out barrels. Hunter Fedden from California was on James’s toes with smooth combos and ended up in second place.

Next up was the SCION invitee Air Show where Jeff Hubbard (Hawaii), Jason Bitzer (NJ), Jacob Romero (Hawaii). Shea Silvia (Hawaii) and Matt Withaar (Australia) put on a display for the crowd. It was Jeff Hubbard’s back flip to invert that earned him bragging rights to the Air Show division.

The Women’s Final hit the water with the top two girls in the USA, Roberta Bitzer and Luz Marie Grande Parez who were battling it out in a Women on Women 30 min final. Luz struck first with a  big roll and Roberta answered back with a Roll to spin.

Both girls found a back up wave to gain there two scores. In the last 5 minutes Roberta was able to find a clean section that she rolled and landed, also going for a second roll scoring 8 points to take the lead and the win.

The awards at The 2009 SCION Jenks Pro had an amazing show of support by the Jenks Beach Patrons and all walked away with a gift bag from SCION and Ocean Current Clothing.  The USBA Announced it's tour Champions at the Jenks Pro and we want to congratulate Jeff Hubbard- Mens Pro Champ, Luz Grande Pares- Women's Pro Champ and Drop Knee Pro Champ- Brian Stroeh.

Thanks so all our supporters of The 2009 Body Glove USBA Tour and the SCION Jenks Pro present by Ocean Current!

Mens Pro

1.      Jeff Hubbard
2.      Matt Withaar
3.      Jacob Romero
4.      Armanado Molina

Womens Pro

1.      Roberta Bitzer
2.      Luz Marie Grande Parez

DK Pro

1.       Brain Stroeh
2.      Jeff Hubbard
3.      Jacob Romero
4.      Pedro Rosario

Am Open

1.      John Mangini
2.      Rob Mac
3.      Dorin Buchanan
4.      Hunter Fedden

13-17 Am

1.      James Joyce
2.      Hunter Fedden
3.      Billy Murphy
4.      Mike Mckeiver

The Summer Surf Gear Guide 2021