Kyle Ward beats the champions at Yallingup

March 9, 2015 | Bodyboarding
Kyle Ward: surprise, surprise | Photo: Surfing WA/Woolacott

Kyle Ward conquered the Yallingup stage of the 2015 SunSmart WA Bodyboard Titles. The rider from Joondalup excelled in the Open Men's division.

Almost 70 riders entered the opening event of the Western Australian bodyboarding circuit, held in two different, yet exciting venues - a shallow reef break (Mousetraps) on the first day, and then an open beach (Smiths Beach).

In the blue ribbon Open Men's final, Ward showed he can mix it with the best and defeated current Open Men's National Champion Ben Veitch, international phenomenon Lewy Finnegan, and former WA State Champion Jake Metcalfe.

Ward's committed outside manoeuvres combined with his smooth flowing style saw him lock in a heat high 9.07 (from a possible 10) and backed it up with a 7.77 to take a confidence building win.

"This is the biggest win I think I've ever had. I set myself a goal to try and win a State Title event this year, so to do it in front of the boys in the final means a lot," expressed Kyle Ward.

Local bodyboarding legend Joe Jordanoff, who holds four Australian Titles and an outstanding ten WA State Titles, showed his class defeating Kim Feast, Rory Nelson and Mark Boehm.

"I've just had a baby boy and nothing can compare to that feeling. I've been competing in these event for as long as I can remember, and it's great to still be mixing it up with these guys beside me," added Jordanoff.

The best bodyboarders in Western Australia will now travel to Mandurah in May and Scarborough in June, before National Titles in August.

2015 SunSmart WA Bodyboard Titles | Round 1 - Yallingup

Open Men:
1. Kyle Ward (Joondalup) 16.84 points
2. Ben Veitch (Margaret River) 16.30 points
3. Lewy Finnegan (Ocean Reef) 15.26 points
4. Jake Metcalfe (City Beach) 14.64 points

1. Joe Jordanoff (Dunsborough) 12.67 points
2. Kim Feast (Gracetown) 9.10 points
3. Rory Nelson (Geraldton) 7.76 points
4. Mark Boehm (Marangaroo) 4.17 points

Under 14 Groms:
1. Dan Donovan (Scarborough) 9.87 points
2. Ben Vigors (Geraldton) 7.50 points

Under 16 Cadet Boys:
1. Henry Gibson (Mandurah) 11.17 points
2. Brad Harrington (Singleton) 8.66 points
3. Lachlan Hearne (Geraldton) 8.16 points
4. Tom Todaro (Geraldton) 8.05 points

Under 18 Junior Men:
1. Noah Symmans (Albany) 14.83 points
2. Lachy Breaky (Dunbsorough) 12.33 points
3. Josh Peters (Duncraig) 11.33 points
4. Mark Sumner (Marmion) 5.68 points

Under 21 Pro Junior:
1. Lee Wilson (Margaret River) 15.50 points
2. Lachie Breaky (Dunsborough) 11.53 points
3. Daniel Steel (Yanchep) 10.94 points
4. Finn Haslau (Margaret River) 10.83 points

Over 24 Senior Men:
1. Ben Veitch (Margaret River) 14.33 points
2. Jacob Cross (Clarkson) 10.16 points
3. Mark Clark (Burekup) 9.84 points
4. Brendan Gabel (South Perth) 5.76 points

Over 35 Masters Men:
1. Michael Steele (Bunbury) 9.93 points
2. Nathan Lotze (Dunsborough) 8.67 points
3. Darren Hotker (Bunbury) 2.83 points

The Summer Surf Gear Guide 2019