Miguel Rocha is the 2016 Portuguese National Bodysurfing champion

September 14, 2016 | Bodyboarding
Miguel Rocha: your 2016 Portuguese National Bodysurfing champion

Miguel Rocha has taken out the 2016 Portuguese National Bodysurfing Championships.

Bodysurfing is steadily conquering a new fan base. More events are being held worldwide, and the number of riders is increasing each year. However, bodysurfers don't often have the opportunity to compete on a national level.

The good news is that Portuguese Surfing Federation (FPS) managed to put up a well-organized five-stop circuit in some of the best spots the country has to offer. The 2016 season attracted more than 50 riders, and more than 50 percent of them competed in at least four stages.

Bodysurfing legend Mark Cunningham godfathered the opening round of the second Portuguese National Bodysurfing Championships, and he loved what he saw.

The 2016 Portuguese National Bodysurfing Championships were run in Cascais, Costa da Caparica, Santa Cruz, Vagueira, and Peniche. Miguel Rocha ended up winning three events and was crowned the overall champion.

"The year didn't start well. I found out that I have multiple sclerosis, and I thought it would be the end of my participation in the championship. I ended up putting it behind, and had many people supporting me," explained Rocha.

"The most challenging event was the first. I hadn't trained, I didn't know how would my body react, and it was everything new to me. But it was the surprise I needed to keep up the good vibes."

Miguel Rocha: he won three bodysurfing events in 2016 | Photo: Almeida/Alfarroba

2016 Portuguese National Bodysurfing Championships | Top 10

1. Miguel Rocha
2. António Stott
3. Nuno Mesquita
4. Pedro Collaço
5. Gonçalo Tita
6. Pedro Antunes
6. Gonçalo Faria
8. Rodrigo Carrajola
9. João Metelo
10. Miguel Correia

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: