Noah Symmans claims 2015 Australian Bodyboard Titles

August 18, 2015 | Bodyboarding
Noah Symmans: two trophies at the 2015 Australian Bodyboard Titles | Photo: Smith/ASF

Noah Symmans has conquered the Open Men's division at 2015 Australian Bodyboard Titles. However, several shark sightings around Gallows and Park Beach, in Coffs Harbour, have forced the cancellation of the Cadets and Grommets finals.

Symmans was able to grab the trophy before the 2015 Australian Bodyboard Titles were called off. The bodyboarder from Albany defeated Jack Harries, Jordan Ihms, and Joey Orme in the Open Men final, but he also took out the Junior Men division.

"I didn't really expect to take out two national titles today over in Coffs Harbour. Pretty stoked to Win the Under 18 and Open Men's division. Couldn't have done it without the WA boys support," expressed Noah Symmans.

On the Women's category, Shauna Gillet added another national title to her trophy room, while Luke Fisher completely dominated the Drop-Knee final with fast and seamless manoeuvres on the wave faces.

The 2015 Australian Bodyboard Titles would later be cancelled due to multiple shark sightings. The Cadets final was underway, and all riders had to return to shore.

"Competitor safety is absolutely paramount and our number one concern. The bcu Australian Surf Festival has had constant water-surveillance over the course of the first 16 days of competition and we had zero sightings over that period," explains Glen Elliott, contest director at the Australian Surf Festival.

"Surfing Australia has a very thorough shark mitigation plan, which we acted on accordingly and based on conversations with Coffs Harbour City Lifeguards, we have decided it would be in everyone's best interest to cancel the final two finals of the entire event."

2015 Australian Bodyboard Titles | Results

Open Men
1. Noah Symmans (Albany, WA)
2. Jack Harries (Avoca, NSW)
3. Jordan Ihms (Falcon, WA)
4. Joey Orme (Caloundra, Qld)

Drop Knee
1. Luke Fisher (Tweed Heads, NSW)
2. Dion Myers (Coffs Harbour, NSW)
3. Justin Kirkpatrick (Broadbeach, Qld)
4. Mitchell Ashcroft (Sandy Beach, NSW)

Open Women
1. Shauna Gillet (Martinsville, NSW)
2. France Hazar (Avalon, NSW)
3. Britt-Marie Ladley (Mermaid Waters, Qld)
4. Sally Wells (Nunawading, VIC)

Junior Men
1. Noah Symmans (Albany, WA)
2. Nathan Wilson (Kiama, NSW)
3. Keiran Riches (Coffs Harbour, NSW)
4. Lochie Breaky (Dunsborough, WA)

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: