Only Costes, Hubbard and Lavernhe have a shot at the 2016 APB World Tour title

October 24, 2016 | Bodyboarding
Pierre-Louis Costes: getting barreled at El Fronton | Photo: Tabone/APB

The Fronton King Pro 2016 entered Round 4, but Gran Canaria's most famous slab has already made its cut. Iain Campbell and Alex Uranga are out of the world title race.

The waves are getting bigger, and the tension is building. With six-to-eight-foot waves pumping down the line at El Fronton, it's time for final matchups.

Round 3 has already produced three major upsets. Iain Campbell, the leader of the APB World Tour rankings, fell on the hands of a local charger, Igor Sanchez. Campell will not be able to win the 2016 APB World Tour.

Alex Uranga is out of competition, too. The rider from the Basque Country lost his Round 4 heat against Jacob Romero, and will not participate in the world title discussion.

Amaury Lavernhe won his Round 4 heat against Mike Stewart, but because Hubbard and Pierre-Louis Costes won their Round 3 clashes, his mathematical chances of clinching the world title have declined.

Only three riders world title contenders remain in competition - Jeff Hubbard, Costes and Lavernhe. They're three former world champions in high-performance waves. Who will celebrate another world title?

The Fronton King Pro 2016 is on hold until Wednesday, 26 October, due to large swells.

Fronton King Pro 2016 | Round 3 Results

Amaury Lavernhe (REU) 14.47 def. Johnathon Vega (CNY) 9.90
Mike Stewart (USA) 14.94 def. Antonio Cardoso (POR) 14.66
Jacob Romero (USA) 12.17 def. Dino Carmo (POR) 2.10
Alex Uranga (EUK) 12.00 def. Guilherme Cobo (CNY) 11.83
Eder Luciano (BRA) 6.23 def. Garth McGregor (AUS) 4.43
Mitch Rawlins (AUS) 14.50 def. Matias Dias (CHI) 5.80
Nicholas Chiara (ARG) 15.17 def. Sacha Damjanic (CHI) 9.17
Igor Sanchez (CNY) 12.83 def. Iain Campbell (ZAF) 10.73
Pierre Louis Costes (FRA) 18.33 def. Eduardo Rodriguez (CNY) 9.40
Diego Cabrera (CNY) 17.66 def. Lewy Finnegan (AUS) 12.90
Tanner McDaniel (HAW) 13.50 def. Daniel Quintana (CNY) 12.37
Alan Munoz (CHI) 13.33 def. Davis Blackwell (AUS) 9.83
Dave Hubbard (HAW) 13.67 def. Aitor Martin (CNY) 13.4
Uri Valadao (BRA) 15.17 def. Dudu Pedra (BRA) 11.17
Miguel Adao (POR) 16.23 def. Tristan Roberts (ZAF) 16.10
Jeff Hubbard (HAW) 15.17 def. Yery Martinez (CNY) 5.33

Fronton King Pro 2016 | Round 4 Results

Amaury Lavernhe (REU) 15.44 def. Mike Stewart (HAW) 13.10
Jacob Romero (HAW) 14.40 def. Alex Uranga (EUK) 13.34

The Summer Surf Gear Guide 2019