Nic Von Rupp: experiencing the ultimate thrill in Nazaré | Photo: EDP Mar Sem Fim

Twenty waves are nominated for the 2017 XXL EDP Mar Sem Fim Awards.

The EDP Mar Sem Fim (Endless Sea) is an exploration project that aims to increase the visibility and development of the Portuguese big wave surfing community.

The program not only provides specific training programs and logistic support to athletes, but it also holds an annual awards ceremony to celebrate the most extreme rides of the season.

In 2017, the organization received a total 87 entries. Twenty surfers will compete for a prize-money of 4,700 euros in four divisions: Paddle In, Tube, Wipeout and Tow in.

Alex Botelho, Nic Von Rupp, Joao de Macedo, Lourenço Katzenstein, António Silva, João Guedes, and Marco Medeiros caught giant waves in Nazaré, Peniche, Ericeira, and Azores, but also in Australia, Mexico ou Indonesia.

The EDP Mar Sem Fim project is also supporting the exploration of uncharted big wave surf breaks in Portuguese waters, whether they're located off the coast of mainland Portugal, or near the Azores and Madeira shorelines.

The four winners of the 2017 XXL EDP Mar Sem Fim Awards will be announced September 20, in Lisbon.

2017 EDP Mar Sem Fim Awards | Finalists

Paddle In Wave of the Year

João Macedo, Nazaré
Nic Von Rupp, Nazaré
António Silva, Nazaré
Alex Botelho, Nazaré
João Macedo, Nazaré
Nic Von Rupp, Nazaré

Tube Ride of the Year

João de Macedo, Azores
Alex Botelho, Mexico
Lourenço Katzenstein, Secret Spot
António Silva, Indonesia
Nic Von Rupp, Indonesia

Wipeout of the Year

Alex Botelho, Nazaré
Nic Von Rupp, Nazaré
Joao Macedo, Nazaré
Nic Von Rupp, Nazaré

Tow In Wave of the Year

João Guedes, Azores
Lourenço Katzenstein, Nazaré
João Guedes, Nazaré
Marco Medeiros, Azores
João De Macedo, Azores

Are you on a week-long beach holiday? Have you bought bodyboard for your kid? Smart move. Get ready to introduce your offspring to the waves easily and safely. It is going to be fun.

+ Bodyboarding News

Brad Domke calls Cylinders his home. He's been riding it for more than a decade. But you've never seen him in board transfers like these.

+ Skimboarding News

Nico von Lerchenfeld has had the time of his life at Surf Snowdonia, in Wales. But he was not there to surf.

+ Wakeboarding News