Australian Surf Team announced for the 2009 ISA Junior Championships in Ecuador

February 6, 2009 | Surfing

ISA World Junior Championships

Surfing Australia is pleased to announce the 2009 Australian Junior Surf Team. Team Australia will represent Australia at the ISA World Junior Championships in Ecuador this March.

Surfing Australia would like to congratulate 2009’s Team Australia. Leading the Aussie charge in three separate divisions will be:

Dean Bowen (Gerroa, NSW,) Jordi Watson (Currarong, NSW,) Davey Cathels (Narrabeen, NSW,) and Garrett Parkes (Byron Bay, NSW,) in the Under 18 boys division.

Cooper Chapman (North Narrabeen, NSW,) Dylan Cummings (Noraville, NSW,) Matt Banting (Port Macquarie, NSW,) and Creed McTaggert (Margaret River, WA,) in the Under 16 boys division

And the Under 18 Girls division will be contested by Paige Haggerston (Coal Point, NSW,) Kirby Wright (Lennox Head, NSW,) Laura Enever (North Narrabeen, NSW,) and Tyler Wright (Lennox Head, NSW.)

24 top class surfers completed a grueling four day selection camp at Surfing Australia’s High Performance Centre (HPC) late last week under the guidance of National Coaching Director Martin Dunn and High Performance Coaches Mark Richardson, Grant Hudson and Jenny Boggis.

During this camp each athlete’s fitness, competition skills, attitude and previous event results were tested and analyzed allowing point scores to be awarded to each surfer. Based on this point scoring system, the selections were made. Further information on the Team Australia Selection Policy can be found in the Team Australia Selection Policy.

“It was a very tough and close selection camp, with only the smallest of margins separating each surfer” said National Coaching Director Martin Dunn. “We were all very pleased with the attitude and skill displayed by all surfers at the selection camp and we are confident that we have selected a strong, talented team who will do Australia proud at the World Junior Championships.”

Team Australia will head to Ecuador in late March. The team will be fighting to defend their current world title after winning Australia’s 3rd consecutive championship in France last year. uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more on our About section.