Bruce Irons confirmed in the 2015 Billabong Pipe Masters

November 23, 2015 | Surfing
Bruce Irons: winner of the 2001 Billabong Pipeline Masters | Photo: Bielmann/Volcom

Bruce Irons has been granted a spot on the 2015 Billabong Pipe Masters.

Surf fans lobbied through social media, and the World Surf League (WSL) acquiesced. The former Dream Tour surfer and Pipe Master champion will compete in the event held in Memory of Andy Irons, his late brother.

"I'm so honored to be given the opportunity to compete in the Pipe Masters in memory of my brother. I reached out to Kieren a couple of weeks ago and asked if it would be a possibility and he's been completely open with me through this whole process," revealed Bruce Irons.

"I understand that the opportunity is coming to me due to someone withdrawing, which is never what you hope for, but I'm really pumped to surf Pipe with the world's best. Really looking forward to the event and I hope the waves fire."

Bruce Irons was born on the 16th November 1979, in Kauai, Hawaii. He caught his first wave at the age of seven. After winning multiple national titles, Andy's younger brother stepped up his game.

In 2001, he defeated Kelly Slater to claim the Billabong Pipeline Masters, and three years later he conquered the 2004 Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau. Bruce's sole victory on the Championship Tour came in 2008 when he won the Rip Curl Pro Search in Uluwatu, Indonesia.

"With the withdrawals of Fredrick Patacchia and Matt Banting, the WSL is in a position to allocate one of the replacement spots to Bruce, and we feel like he's certainly a worthy candidate given the form he's in. Looking forward to a great event," added Kieren Perrow, WSL Commissioner.

Hopefully, we will see Bruce Irons take on the title contenders - Mick Fanning, Filipe Toledo, Adriano de Souza, Gabriel Medina, Owen Wright and Julian Wilson. One of them will be crowned 2015 world surfing champion.

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: