Four-man priority system pays off at Haleiwa

November 15, 2014 | Surfing
Tiago Pires: leading the Portuguese contingent | Photo: ASP/Cestari

Eighty percent of the waves ridden on the third day of the 2014 Reef Hawaiian Pro were scored in the good-to-excellent range.

Blame it on the four-man priority system. Richie Porta, ASP Head Judge, believes the format "enhances the spectator experience. We're seeing surfers relaxed in the lineup, in perfect position for the waves when they come, and riding the best waves on offer. It's a win-win."

Dusty Payne proves that. The surfer from Maui stole the highest heat score: 18.70 out of a possible 20 in double- to triple-overhead surf. His World Tour League hopes are unexpectedly alive.

"I'm really not even thinking about (qualifying). I'd love to just do good and have a shot at trying to win the Triple Crown. That's all I really care about. It's Hawaii's version of the world title," says Payne.

Bede Durbidge also enjoyed an epic day of surfing at Haleiwa. The Australian defeated Mitch Crews, Ezekiel Lau, and Tanner Gudauskas, and is ready to attack the Triple Crown series title.

"It's always a goal coming to Hawaii. Winning the Triple Crown and having a taste of it before, It's the best feeling ever. It's still in the early days; this is my first heat. But I'm feeling good, healthy and strong, so I just want to keep this form going," revealed Durbidge.

The Portuguese surfing contingent had a fantastic performance. Nic Von Rupp, Vasco Ribeiro, Frederico Morais and Tiago Pires have all survived their heats.

2014 Reef Hawaiian Pro | Round 3

Heat 1: Jordy Smith (ZAF) 17.00; Joel Centeio (HAW) 15.57; Michael Dunphy (USA) 10.97; Maxime Huscenot (FRA) 6.10
Heat 2: Joan Duru (FRA) 14.37; Nic Von Rupp (PRT) 12.70; Aritz Aranburu (ESP) 8.67; Kai Otton (AUS) 6.73
Heat 3: Adrian Buchan (AUS) 15.44; Tomas Hermes (BRA) 15.37; Stu Kennedy (AUS) 15.30; Dion Atkinson (AUS) 15.16
Heat 4: Dusty Payne (HAW) 18.70; Raoni Monteiro (BRA) 17.00; Sunny Garcia (HAW) 16.30; Kolohe Andino (USA) 14.10
Heat 5: Ramzi Boukhiam (MAR) 17.24; Brett Simpson (USA) 14.27; Nathan Hedge (AUS) 13.80; Nat Young (USA) 13.57
Heat 6: Bede Durbidge (AUS) 18.46; Mitch Crews (AUS) 16.66; Ezekiel Lau (HAW) 16.37; Tanner Gudauskas (USA) 16.07
Heat 7: Julian Wilson (AUS) 17.77; Sebastian Zietz (HAW) 17.27; Bill Stairmand (NZL) 16.03; Davey Cathels (AUS) 15.60
Heat 8: Damien Hobgood (USA) 18.04; Mick Fanning (AUS) 16.50; Luke Davis (USA) 13.07; Jesse Mendes (BRA) 13.06
Heat 9: Vasco Ribeiro (PRT) 16.60; Keanu Asing (HAW) 16.10; Pancho Sullivan (HAW) 9.84; Mason Ho (HAW) 8.20
Heat 10: Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 17.20; Torrey Meister (HAW) 15.90; Jack Freestone (AUS) 14.90; Jadson Andre (BRA) 13.50
Heat 11: Owen Wright (AUS) 18.63; Travis Logie (ZAF) 17.30; Patrick Gudauskas (USA) 16.70; Jonathan Gonzalez (CNY) 11.77
Heat 12: Frederico Morais (PRT) 17.07; Conner Coffin (USA) 17.03; Alejo Muniz (BRA) 16.36; Miguel Pupo (BRA) 15.46
Heat 13: Wade Carmicheal (AUS) 15.20; Jeremy Flores (FRA) 13.00; Josh Kerr (AUS) 12.87; Jean Da Silva (BRA) 5.53
Heat 14: Tiago Pires (PRT) 18.57; Filipe Toledo (BRA) 16.27; Tanner Hendrickson (HAW) 14.94; Caio Ibelli (BRA) 10.24

The Surfing Christmas Gift Guide for 2019 | Explore our Christmas gift ideas for surfers