Fontaine and Mason win 2009 British Universities & Colleges Sport Surfing Championships

October 21, 2009 | Surfing

BUCS Surf Championships

The BUCS Surfing Championships, in association with Ticket To Ride Worldwide Surfing Adventures, had an incredible 340 surfers compete over three days at Fistral Beach, Cornwall last weekend (16 – 18 October 2009). 

British Universities & Colleges Sport (BUCS) who runs the competition for student surfers partnered with surf adventure company Ticket To Ride, south west legacy trust RELAYS, University College Falmouth, and the British Surfing Association to offer a weekend of professional surfing and surf culture for competitors and spectators.

The Championships included men’s and women’s individual and team competitions. Swansea University’s women’s team retained its team title and UCP Marjon took the men’s team Championships.

Mark Brian, Head of Sports Programmes at BUCS said: “The BUCS Surfing Championships kicked off the sporting season for BUCS and this year’s event exceeded all our expectations. We had a record number of entries for the event and thanks to smooth organisation from the British Surfing Association we were able to get 340 surfers in the water over the three days.

“Conditions were perfect with great waves and clear weather really enhancing the surf festival atmosphere for the 750 spectators who came out to watch our best student surfers in Cornwall this year.”

Will Hayler, Co-found of Ticket To Ride said: “All the elements came together for us this weekend. The sun shone, the waves were classic and the standard of surfing was at its highest. The whole weekend had a festival feel to it and we felt privileged to be a part of it.”

Full results

1st - Beth Mason - Swansea University
2nd - Jaydene Kerton – UCP Marjon
3rd - Clair Smail - Swansea Metropolitan
4th - Hannah Dixon - Swansea University

1st – Gordon Fontaine – Bournemouth University
2nd – Andrew Griffin – UCP Marjon
3rd – Billy Norways – University College Falmouth
4th - Nick Reid – Bristol University

Women’s team:
1st – Swansea University
2nd – UCP Marjon
3rd – Swansea Metropolitan

Men’s team:
1st – UCP Marjon
2nd – University College Falmouth
3rd – Bournemouth University

The Surfing Christmas Gift Guide for 2020 | Explore our Christmas gift ideas for surfers uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more on our About section.