Inilek Wilmot wins opening stage of 2009 Jamaica National Surfing Open Series

February 2, 2009 | Surfing

Inilek Wilmot

The first event of the Jamaica Surfing Association’s 2009 National Open Series kicked off at the Lighthouse surfing beach along the Port Royal Main Road on Saturday 31st of January.

Top Jamaican surfer Inilek Wilmot, Brother of 2008 National Open Champ Icah Wilmot, walked away with the 1000 points on offer for the win and now leads the points race in the five event series which climaxes in December.

Twenty one surfers registered for the event which saw 4 first round heats that narrowed the field to the top twelve for the semi final round where two heats of six determined who would go on to the 6 man final.

The first semi-final was stacked with hot surfers. Luke Williams, Icah and Inilek Wilmot, Jason Pusey, Michael Panton and Ronley Lewis paddled out to try and get the two best waves in the fifteen minute heat. They managed to ride 32 waves between them with the highest scoring wave given by the judges being 8.1 out of 10. When the time expired Luke Icah and Inilek advanced to the final

The second semi final saw an equally impressive line up paddle out to do battle. Ackeam Phillips, Shane Simmonds, Eneson Lightbourn, Garren Pryce, Conrad Smith and Dwayne Tracey all paddled out into the 5’ waves.

The Judges had their work cut out for them as the surfers caught and rode 38 waves in the 15 minute heat with the highest scoring wave being 8.5 out of 10. The spray settled and Ackeam. Shane and Eneson advanced to the final.

The final was a nail biting affair with all the surfers doing very well. Forty one waves were ridden in the heat with a 9.0 being awarded for one of the ridden waves. The lead changed hands a number of times with the crowd on the beach voicing their obvious approval for every well ridden wave.

The Judges were under pressure as Jamaica’s best surfers went at it for twenty minutes. The final horn sounded and it was left up o the judges score cards. Inilek First, Shane second, Icah third, Luke fourth Ackeam fifth and Eneson sixth.

“The waves were excellent….” Said JSA President Billy Wilmot, “… and the standard of surfing displayed by the competitors was truly impressive.”

The next event in the 2009 series will be held on Saturday February 28 2009 at the MAKKA surfing Beach, Southaven Yallahs Saint Thomas beginning at 9:00am. The public is invited.

Below are the final results of the first event of the National Open Series

1 Inilek Wilmot
2 Shane Simmonds
3 Icah Wilmot
4 Luke Williams
5 Ackeam Phillips
6 Eneson Lightbourn
7 Garren Pryce
7 Jason Pusey
9 Michael Panton
9 Conrad Smith
11 Ronley Lewis
11 Dwayne Tracey
13 Dwight Roberts
13 Lennox Wright
13 Shama Beckford
13 Ackeam Taylor
17 Ronald Hastings
17 Oshane Jacks
17 Eugene Miller
17 Armani Green
21 Janoy Hall uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more on our About section.