Jake Paterson crowned Kailis' King of the Point 2014

April 27, 2014 | Surfing
Jake Paterson: beautiful fan

Jake Paterson has been crowned the Kailis' King of the Point 2014, in the City of Stirling, Australia.

Yallingup surfers claimed three of the four divisions contested at the King of the Point 2014. The heated final between Paterson and Mitch Taylor saw Jake holding onto his crown for another term, with a combined total of 15.60 points.

"I'm super happy to win, it was tough conditions today and I just made the most of it. I got down here early and had a little warm up session which I think really made the difference, because in my first heat I just knew which were the good [waves] and which were the bad ones, and just got the job done," says Paterson.

Reigning Queen Claire Bevilacqua proved experience is key when taking out a back-to-back crown with a combined score of 15.47 against Bailee Hastie with 11.44, Skip Van Peer with 10.93 and Emi Campbell with 10.03.

"It's really fun to be back and competing and hopefully next year we can get a few more girls involved and all the juniors down here doing it. I'm always going to be a Perth girl really and Jake and I winning again this year is pretty funny as we're here doing it for the old dogs," adds Bevilacqua.

Controversy in the Prince of the Point put Trigg's Pascal Hutchinson in fourth place after an interference call on Jake Edwards in third place, with James Fleming, who also took out the Expression Session, in second place, and Yallingup's Kael Walsh taking out first place.

The Lord of the Point Over 30s final saw two points separating first from fourth place, with Karrinyup's Drew Everest coming out on top with a combined score of 16.50 over Mick Jardine with a 14.94, Luke Hayter with a 14.40, and Kerry Whitford with a 13.84.

Jake Paterson and Claire Bevilacqua have earned themselves a spot into the trials of the Drug Aware Margaret River Pro 2015.

Kailis' King of the Point 2014 Results:

King (Open Men's)
1. Jake Paterson (Yallingup)
2. Mitch Taylor (Trigg)

Queen (Open Women's)
1. Claire Bevilacqua (Yallingup)
2. Bailee Hastie (Margaret River)
3. Skip Van Peer (Mandurah)
4. Emi Campbell (Denmark)

Prince (Pro Junior U21)
1. Kael Walsh (Yallingup)
2. James Fleming (Geraldton)
3. Jake Edwards (Cottesloe)
4. Pascal Hutchinson (Trigg)

Lord (Masters Over 30s)
1. Drew Everest (Karrinyup)
2. Mick Jardine (Trigg)
3. Luke Hayter (Scarborough)
4. Kerry Whitford (Trigg)

The Summer Surf Gear Guide 2019