Jeison Torres Abarca earns a ticket to Steamer Lane

October 9, 2014 | Surfing
O'Neill Coldwater Classic: Steamer Lane is always one | Photo: O'Neill

Jeison Torres Abarca has earned an exclusive wildcard into the 2014 O'Neill Coldwater Classic Invitational.

The surf contest will be run between October 28th and November 1st, at Steamer Lane in Santa Cruz, California. The winner of the event will be awarded a life-changing yearlong O'Neill Wetsuits contract worth $50,000 in travel incentives and contest fees.

Jeison Abarca comes from Costa Rica. He won the online video voting contest against three other surfers. The 26-year-old talent collected 44% of the votes, ahead of Leif Engstrom (31%), Kadin Panesi (15%) and Austin Smith-Ford (10%).

The Costa Rican surfer will join 15 other unsponsored surfers invited to compete in the Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) Specialty Event.

Torrey Meister claimed last year's O'Neill Coldwater Classic Invitational. "I've seen my dreams come to life. I've gotten to pay off debt from last year and focus on surfing and making heats. It doesn't feel like a sponsorship; it's more personal than that. I call them really good friends now."

2014 O'Neill Coldwater Classic Invitational | Invitees

1. Jeison Torres Abarca (Jaco, PU, CRI)
2. Cory Arrambide (Ventura, CA)
3. Jack Boyes (Huntington Beach, CA)
4. Shaun Burns (Santa Cruz, CA)
5. Wade Carmichael (Gosford, NSW, AUS)
6. Nathanial Curren (Oxnard, CA)
7. Tanner Hendrickson (Paia, Maui, HI)
8. Stu Kennedy (Lennox Head, NSW, AUS)
9. Clay Marzo (Lahaina, Maui, HI)
10. Quinn McCrystal (Huntington Beach, CA)
11. Johnny Noris (La Jolla, CA)
12. Garrett Parkes (Byron Bay, NSW, AUS)
13. Lincoln Taylor (North Stradbroke Island, QLD, AUS)
14. Austin Ware (Solana Beach, CA)
15. Chris Waring (Seal Beach, CA)
16. Nathan Yeomans (San Clemente, CA)

The Summer Surf Gear Guide 2019