Josh Constable and Rosie Locke win the 2009 Australian Longboard Titles

August 22, 2009 | Surfing
2009 Australian Longboard Titles

A great week of surfing, weather, waves, and comradery was capped off with an amazing last day of competition at the Australian Longboard Titles.

Having seen 184 of Australia’s best converging on Port Macquarie, today represented the pinnacle with 11 National Titles awarded in front of a large crowd.

In the Open Men division, Josh Constable (Noosa, QLD) highlighted to all why he is one of the greatest ever Australian surfers.

Defeating Harley Ingleby (Emerald Beach, NSW), Grant Thomas (Maroochydore, QLD), and Dane Pioli (Tweed Heads, NSW), who finished second, third, and fourth respectively, Constable extended his reign as the most successful amateur longboarder in Australian history.

“To win five Australian Titles is amazing,” he said.

“When I started surfing as a youngster I always dreamed of winning one National Title and a World Title,” he admitted.

“To achieve this and more is beyond words.”

Wrapped in an enthralling battle from start to finish, Constable was glad to get the nod ahead of great mates and excellent competitors.

With a see-sawing battle over the 25-minute finale, Constable and Ingleby traded blows until the very end.

“The level of surfing on show throughout the entire week has been first-class,” Constable admitted.

“It’s always good to beat the best,” he said.

Following on from Constable’s epic feat was fellow Noosa resident Rosie Locke who claimed her first-ever Australian Longboard Title.

Defeating Georgia Young (Swinbourne, WA), Samantha White (Culburra, NSW) and Biana Anstiss (Currumbin, QLD), who finished second, third and fourth respectively, Locke was lost for words after claiming her maiden Title.

“I can’t believe it,” she said with a beaming smile.

“This is the best feeling ever!”

Having been in red-hot form throughout the contest, Locke was in career-best form as she marched through the semi-finals and final with a dynamic repertoire of powerful surfing.

“Things just seemed to go my way out there,” Locke added.

“When I heard that competition had turned back to Town Beach my confidence grew with the prospect of a consistent right-hand peak.”

In a day that will be forever remembered for the performances of Queensland surfers, Mark McNamara (Currumbin Waters, QLD) was the headline act after winning two Australian Longboard Titles within one hour.

Having claimed the Over 35’s with one of the performances of the day, racking up a combined heat total of 14.15 (out of a possible 20), McNamara then paddled out, conquered, and won the Over 45 years division.

Also on top of the world after a stunning display was Ed Cunningham (Bundaberg, QLD) who outpointed his twin brother, George, in the Junior Male division.

In what was an excellent insight into the future of Australian Longboarding, Cunningham amassed the highest single heat total of the day with 16.35 (out of a possible 20).

Rachel Pinsak (Terrigal, NSW) claimed the Junior Female division, whilst Hayden Swan (Yamba, NSW), Bruce Channon (Mona Vale, NSW), Debbie Boggis (Currumbin, Qld), Glen Mahoney (Emerald Beach, NSW), and Neville Smith (Ashgrove, Qld) all claimed prestigious National Titles.

The Country Energy Australian Surf Festival will take place from August 15 – 29 2009 at Port Macquarie.

Australian Longboard Titles – FINAL RESULTS

Open Men
Josh Constable (Noosa, Qld) - 16.00
Harley Ingleby (Emerald Beach, NSW) - 15.70
Grant Thomas (Maroochydore, Qld) - 14.05
Dane Pioli (Tweed Heads, NSW) - 13.55

Open Women
Rosie Locke (Noosa, Qld) - 13.65
Georgia Young (Swinbourne, WA) - 13.30
Samantha White (Culburra, NSW) - 10.15
Bianca Anstiss (Currumbin, Qld) - 5.55

Under 18 Boys
Ed Cunningham (Bundaberg, Qld) - 16.35
Clinton Guest (Burleigh Waters, Qld) - 13.25
George Cunningham (Bundaberg, Qld) - 12.00
Jackson Winter (Noosa Heads, Qld) - 7.85

Under 18 Girls
Rachel Pinsak (Terrigal, NSW) - 15.25
Samantha White (Currarong, NSW) - 10.25
Beth Palmer (Dicky Beach, Qld) - 9.25
Georgie Roach (Maroochydore, Qld) - 7.05

Over 35 Men
Mark McNamara (Currumbin Waters, Qld) - 14.15
Shaun Dry (Dee Why, NSW) - 12.25
Kane McLeod (Tas) - 11.10
Craig Munro (Port Macquarie, NSW) - 9.40

Over 35 Women
Debbie Boggis (Currumbin, Qld) - 13.05
Sharon Jackson (Alexandra Headland, Qld) - 11.75
Kirsty Webster (Banora Point, NSW) - 10.10
Liz Carter Nsw (Norah Head, NSW) - 6.05

Over 40 Men
Hayden Swan (Yamba, NSW) - 13.90
Brett McCarthy (Bonny Hills, NSW) - 11.60
Phil Overend (Merimbula, NSW) - 12.85
Scott Downing (Wonoona, NSW) - 8.95

Over 45 Men
Mark McNamara (Currumbin Waters, Qld) - 12.45
Glenn Cunningham (Bundaberg, Qld) -12.30
Richard Smith (Sawtell, NSW) - 12.05
John Fraser (Copacabana, NSW) - 9.60

Over 50 Men
Glen Mahoney (Emerald Beach, NSW) - 10.75
Steve Anstiss (Currumbin, Qld) - 9.90
John Ayton (VIC) - 9.80
John Skinner (Mt Warrigal, NSW) - 9.65

Over 55 Men
Bruce Channon (Mona Vale, NSW) - 14.35
Gary Taylor (Bonny Hills, NSW) - 11.80
Phil Trigger (VIC) - 11.25
Peter Hudson (Lake Cathie, NSW) - 9.05

Over 60 Men
Neville Smith (Ashgrove, Qld) -13.35
Bob Smith (VIC) - 9.60
Danny Bond (Blue Bond, NSW) - 9.60
Peter Cox (SA) - 8.75