New swell expected for the O'Neill Cold Water Classic in Scotland

April 29, 2009 | Surfing

O’Neill Cold Water Classic Scotland

The O’Neill Cold Water Classic (CWC) Scotland by Swatch, an Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) World Qualifying Series (WQS) 6-Star Prime event, entered its 8-day waiting period today welcoming some of surfing’s best professional athletes at Thurso for the kick off of the world’s northern based event on the ASP World Qualifying Series (WQS).

The inconsistent surf on offer at either Brims Ness or the world famous righthander of Thurso East forced officials to postpone the start of competition until tomorrow morning when another call is made at 7 AM by O’Neill Cold Water Classic Series contest director Matt Wilson (AUS) with reasonable chances to see the expected new swell supposed to hit Northern Scotland show its first pulses for Day 2.

With 120 surfers having made the trip to Thurso to try and seize the valuable ratings’ points on offer and US$ 145 000 up for grabs, the O’Neill Cold Water Classic (CWC) Scotland will witness world class action with event top seed and ASP Top 45 rookie Drew Courtney (AUS), 20, leading the favorites’ charge while current ASP World Qualifying Series (WQS) ratings’ No. 1 Owen Wright (AUS), 19, will be ready to extend his lead over close followers.

Defending champion Adam Robertson (AUS), 26, will be back out in the renowned cold waters of Scotland when Round 2 paddles out, the Victorian based competitor looking to keep-up his exceptional form that saw him make the final of the last ASP World Tour event at Bells Beach after making it through the trials and defeating several Dream Tour leaders on his way.

With former ASP World Champion and last year’s O’Neill CWC Scotland equal 5th Sunny Garcia (HAW), 2008 runner-up Adam Melling (AUS), O’Neill team riders Jarrad Howse (AUS) and Hugo Savalli (REU) as well as Europe’s rising stars Joan Duru (FRA) and Marc Lacomare (FRA) all attending the event, the set-up is ready for another spectacular edition.

The O’Neill Cold Water Classic Scotland is the second event of five on this year’s O’Neill Cold Water Classic Series and offers valuable 3500 ratings’ points to the winner counting for the qualification towards next year’s ASP World Tour.

Heat 1: Wiggoly Dantas (BRA), Jayce Robinson (GBR), Alex Gray (USA)
Heat 2: Sunny Garcia (HAW), Yujiro Tsuji (JPN), Mark Cameron (SCO), Yuzuru Tanaka (JPN)
Heat 3: Jay Davies (AUS), Omer Bar (ISR), Ryah Arthur (USA)
Heat 4: Marco Giorgi (URY), Alejandro Moreda (PRI), Micheal Bailey (USA)
Heat 5: Heath Joske (AUS), Angelo Lozano (MEX), Chris Davis (USA)
Heat 6: Matt Mohagen (USA), Gordon Fontaine (FRA), Haritz Mendiluze (EUK), Georgie Watts (SCO)
Heat 7: Madison Williams (AUS), Luca Guichard (DNK), Matt Capel (GBR), Eduardo Fernandes (PRT)
Heat 8: Luke Munro (AUS), Freddie Meadows (SWE), Matt Johnson (USA)
Heat 9: Lyncoln Taylor (AUS), Travis Beckmann (USA), Brandon Roberts (ZAF)
Heat 10: Alek Parker (USA), Damien Chaudoy (REU), Ricardo Lange (DEU), Micah Lester (AUS)
Heat 11: Marc Lacomare (FRA), Jason Harris (USA), Jensen Callaway (USA)
Heat 12: Bobby Hansen (NZL), Reubyn Ash (GBR), Jose Trujillo (MEX)
Heat 13: Richard Christie (NZL), Seam Holmes (ZAF), Josie Graves (PRI)
Heat 14: Daniel Redman (ZAF), Will Tant (USA), Joe Tanaka (JPN)
Heat 15: Jano Belo (BRA), Alan Stokes (GBR), Shota Nakamura (JPN), Mark Harris (GBR)
Heat 16: Manuel Selman (CHL), Andrew Bennett (USA), Sam Lamiroy (GBR)

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: