Taiwan Open of Surfing 2013 enters the ASP circuit

November 14, 2013 | Surfing
Taiwan: great waves, great surfers

The Taiwan Open of Surfing 2013 will be sanctioned by the Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP), for the first time in history.

The event will be held in the wave rich coast of Taitung, the ideal setting for this breakthrough ASP 1-Star contest.

Two world champions, Taylor Jensen and Harley Inglebywill trade their longboards for shortboards as they pull on jerseys and compete against the international field with surfers from Taiwan, Japan, Australia, USA, Indonesia, Hong Kong, South Africa, Hawaii and New Zealand.

"It's great to be back, I love Taiwan. I brought my family back this year because I wanted to show them the surf, the beauty and the hospitality that this place has to offer", says Jensen.

Yu-Hao Yang is one of Taitung's most talented and respected surfers and has been given a wildcard into the Round of 32 at this year's Taiwan Open of Surfing.

Yang is hoping to make the most of this opportunity and do his hometown and country proud.

"I'm very excited about sharing this experience with so many great surfers. I'm both honoured and nervous about the wildcard into the ASP event. I've been surfing and training a lot and I will try not to disappoint everyone", adds Yang.

The 2013 Taiwan Open of Surfing will also feature last year's event champion Raditya Rondi, Matt-Lewis Hewitt, Nobuyuki Osawa, Dede Suryana, Norman Roberts and many more.

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: