The Mavericks Surf Contest has greenlight to go

February 12, 2010 | Surfing

Mavericks Surf Contest

Greenlight Alert! The wait is over, the votes have been counted, and the 24 invitees have chosen to call The 2009/2010 Mavericks Surf Contest® Presented by Sony Ericsson and Barracuda Networks for 8 a.m. on Saturday February 13, 2010.

Showcasing 24 of the world’s finest big-wave surfers, the largest prize purse in the history of big-wave surfing at $150,000, a groundbreaking live webcast program, and four former Contest Champions, the Mavericks Surf Contest returns once again to the epic Half Moon Bay break.

2009/2010 Contest Invitees. Mavericks is proud to present: Matt Ambrose, Ben Andrews, Grant Baker, Ion Banner, Chris Bertish, Carlos Burle, Kenny Collins, Shane Desmond, Nathan Fletcher, Brock Little, Greg Long, Josh Loya, Peter Mel, Shawn Rhodes, Ryan Seelbach, Evan Slater, Tyler Smith, Jamie Sterling, Anthony Tashnick, Darryl Virostko, Grant Washburn, Dave Wassell, Tim West, and Zach Wormhoudt.

The 15 alternates are (in order of priority): Alex Martins, Danilo Couto, Mark Healey, Tyler Fox, Rusty long, Nic Lamb, Jamie Mitchell, Mike Gerhardt, Russell Smith, Kealii Mamala, Garrett McNamara, Andrew Marr, Lawton Smith, John Whittle, Colin Dwyer.

Viewing Options. As part of its ongoing efforts to reduce foot traffic at the event and entice fans to experience the Contest remotely, this season Mavericks has launched its most ambitious webcast offering to-date. Millions of fans witnessed the 2008 Contest via a live webcast.

The day’s activities will again be available via a unique live webcast viewing event at AT&T Park—“baseball’s perfect address” and the home of the San Francisco Giants. Ticketed fans can watch the Contest live and in high definition on the big screen in centerfield or from any of the big screens throughout the Club level.

The Summer Surf Gear Guide 2019