Winners crowned at the Blitz Primary School Champs

November 14, 2010 | Surfing

Korbin Hutchings: the primary win

Young Gisborne surfing prodigy Korbin Hutchings surfed to victory in the Boys Division of the Blitz Surf Shop Primary School Champs over the weekend but it was Campion College led by Girls Division winner Dayna Story that took out first placed school at the event.

The Blitz Primary School Champs were held in clean 1.0m waves with offshore winds at Northern Makorori Beach. The setup provided perfect conditions and a safe surfing environment for the entrants ranging from year 5 through to year 8 students of all abilities.

In the Boys Division, Hutchings posted a 15.33 point heat total in a come-from-behind victory over Quin Matenga (Mnt) who led the final from his first 7.33 point ride. Despite Matenga also scoring a 6.0 point ride, Hutchings held his nerve before posting a 7.0 point ride and then an 8.33 point ride late in the final to clinch the win.

Hutchings battled his opponents all weekend with a group of at least six highly talented surfers all capable of the win.

Matenga had earlier strolled through his semifinal completing big turns on all the set waves to win his heats but had to settle for second in the final and help his Matapihi Kura Kaupapa School to runner up at the event.

Taranaki surfer Isaac Kettle placed third in the final and was the only goofyfoot surfer out of the four. Kettle placed ahead of Travis Morton (Waihi Beach) in fourth scoring 7.43 points to 5.83.

Dayna Story dominated the girls division scoring the event high 15.50 in the final with a series of big powerful turns on her forehand. Story's best scoring ride was an 8.17 out of a possible 10 points leaving both of her competitors requiring two good scoring rides to catch her.

Fellow Campion College student Abby Falwasser - Logan placed second in the final ahead of Opunake surfer Nina Anderson.

The Campion team were stoked to win the schools title with senior student and New Zealand representative Jayda Martin - Fitzharris coaching them through their heats all day.

In the plate division, Thomas Dixon - Smith of Wainui Beach School was shell shocked when he was awarded first place at the prize giving. After a tight heat, Dixon - Smith found himself in second place with one scoring riding in the dying stages of the heat. However, a 1.83 point ride was enough to combine with his 6.83 to win the final over plate division standout Matt Scott (Campion College). Young Reff-Tahn Brown (Illminster) placed third in the final just ahead of Jonty Low (Campion).

In the girls division it was Danielle Scott (Campion) that fought hard in the challenging conditions hampered by the outgoing tide to finish first ahead of Samantha Wood (Campion) and Tiana Jakicevich (Campion).

Please see full results from the Blitz Surf Shop Primary School Championships held at Northern Makorori over the weekend.

Team Points
1, Campion College
2, Matapihi Kura Kaupapa
3, Correspondence School
4, Gisborne Intermediate
5, Illminster
6, Sacred Heart
7, Devon Intermediate
8, Opunake Primary
9, Waihi College
10, Waihi Beach Primary
11, Hamilton Christian School
12, Katikati College
13, Wainui Beach School

Boys Championship Final
Korbin Hutchings (Gisborne Intermediate), 1, Quinn Matenga (Matapihi Kura Kaupapa), 2, Isaac Kettle (Devon Intermediate), 3, Travis Morton (Waihi Bch Col), 4

Boys Plate Final
Thomas Dickson - Smith (Wainui Bch), 1, Matt Scott (Campion), 2, Reff-Tahn Brown (Illminster), 3, Jonty Low (Campion), 4

Girls Championship Final
Dayna Story (Campion), 1, Abby Falwasser-Logan (Campion), 2, Nina Anderson (Opunake), 3

Girls Plate Final
Danielle Scott (Campion), 1, Samantha Wood (Campion), 2, Tiana Jakicevich (Campion), 3 uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more on our About section.